Spring online members conference

Thursday 18th March and Friday 19th March




Plenary Thursday 18 March 2021 13.00-14.15

Success and challenge: Taking stock and looking forward

Investment and growth: Innovation in city, town and country

Chair: David Hardman, MD, Bruntwood Birmingham
Mark Wathen, Lead Specialist-Prosperity, Economic Development and Inward Investment, Somerset West and Taunton Council
Richard Collins, Managing Partner, EiBC Consultants
Andrew Carter, Chief Executive, Centre for Cities.

Sustainable futures: Science Parks and sustainability

Chair: Alice Reeve, UKSPA Director/Hethel Innovation
John French, Director of Sustainability, Cambridge Innovation Parks
Fiona Goodwin EAUC Director of Operations and Planning – The Alliance for Sustainability Leadership

Incubation and company growth: Building better businesses – Business support and company growth

Chair: Sally Basker, UKSPA Director/Exeter Science Park
Simon Bond, Innovation Director, SETsquared Partnership
Ian McFarlane-Toms, Programme Manager, University of Warwick Science Park

Investment and growth: Life sciences investment trends

Chris Walters, Investor and Develop Lead, Life Sciences, JLL
John Sommerville, Managing partner, Creative Places
Artem Korolev, Managing Director, Mission Street

Sustainable Futures: The sustainable laboratory

Chair: Bob Cushing, UKSPA
Gary Clark, Principal and Regional Leader of Science and Technology
Matthew Butler, Associate Director Building Engineering, EMIA, AECOM
Tim Fry, Sector Lead , Life Sciences UK, Arup

Incubation and company growth: Building better business: good practice

Chair: Graham Hewson
John Willis, Research and Knowledge Exchange, Manchester Metropolitan University
Jane Galsworthy, MD, Oxford Innovation Services





Plenary Friday 19 March 2021 09:30-10:30

Sector Future: Perspectives

Chair: Glenn Crocker, UKSPA Chairman/ Executive Chairman BioCity Group
• Rosalind Lowe, Head of Policy and Engagement, NCUB
• Bryony Buckland , Programme Director UK Research and Innovation Infrastructure Roadmap
• Dom Hallas, Executive Director, The Coalition for a digital economy (Coadec)

Investment and Growth: Investing in Town and Country

Prashant Shah, Executive Chairman – o2h group
Peter Barrett, Group Property Manager, South Gloucestershire and Stroud College Group
Steve Fish, Faculty Director of Partnerships and Business Engagement, Lancaster University

The future of the office: The new office: design and demand

Chair: Bob Cushing, UKSPA Director
Jon Roylance, Higher Education Director, ADP Architecture
Daniel Francis, Head of Research, Carter Jonas
Andrew Hardwick, Partner, Carter Jonas
Jon Silversides, Partner, Carter Jonas

Incubation and company growth: Building Better Businesses: funding & finance

Chair: John Leake, UKSPA Director/Sci-Tech Daresbury
Henry Whorwood, Head of Research and Consultancy, Beauhurst
Abigail Frear, Director, TechSPARK
Briony Philips, Scaleup Lead at Rocketmakers/TechSPARK

Incubation & company growth : Biotech

Miranda Knaggs Corporate Development Director – BioCity Group
Colin Roberts, Venture Development Director
Gemma Sturt, Venture Development Analyst, BioCity.
Hugo Villanueva, Innovation and Business Development Director, Stevenage Bioscience Catalyst

The future of the Lab: Exploring the new laboratory

Malcolm Tait, Director, KJ Tait Engineers
Phil Macdonald, Managing Partner, Oberlanders Architects LLP
Tony Wells, Managing Director, Merit

Future Trends: Life science and collaboration

Chair: Glenn Crocker. UKSPA Chairman/Biocity Group
Martino Picardo, Chairman, Discovery Park