« Back to members





CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, is Australia’s national science agency and one of the largest and most diverse research agencies in the world.

CSIRO operates under a Federal Act ‘Science and Industry Research Act (1949)’ and is governed by a Board which is responsible to the Australian Government.

The role of CSIRO is to engage in research for the benefit of Australian industry and the community, and to support the Governments; national objectives and international responsibilities.  We operate as a connector in the system bringing R&D and industry together, and we have a role as a trusted advisor to the Government and Australian community.

In the 2011 -15 Strategy, CSIRO embarked on an ambitious program to develop with partners Global Precincts in areas of national importance and where a geographic concentration of expertise already existed.  The Precincts are growing from core partnerships with key Australian Universities to include industry.  The intention is that as they expand they will provides a gateway to Australian R&D for our global partners. 

Global Precinct locations and fields are:

  • The National Resource Sciences Precinct (NRSP) in Perth
  • The Australian Manufacturing and Materials Precinct (AMMP) in SE Melbourne
  • The National Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Precinct (NAESP) in Canberra
  • The Ecosciences Precinct in Brisbane

More information can be found at http://www.csiro.au/Portals/Partner/Global-Precincts.aspx









Limestone Avenue
Campbell ACT 2601
PO BOX 225
Dickson ACT2602, Australia